Jerusalem

(I’m not religious by any stretch of the imagination
but whenever I hear this hymn being belted out by a choir,
I get goosebumps!)

 

JERUSALEM

And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?
And did the countenance divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among those dark satanic mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear: o clouds unfold!
Bring me my chariots of fire!
I will not cease from mental fight;
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Our community choir in Glastonbury do a good version of this, re-arranged in 4 parts (no accompaniment) by our choirmistress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love to hear that!

      Like

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I have not heard this, I would be interested in hearing as it is sung
    where did it come from or rather what religion did it come from?
    Thank you for sharing it
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have found this on you tube, it is the version I have. http://youtu.be/clr8cN9cOeo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        a beautiful rendition of the song…..
        it was as I thought it should sound 🙂 there’s always a feeling of grace surrounding us when such beautiful voices sing
        Thank you for sharing this song this morning…..I appreciate you doing so
        Take Care…You Matter…
        )0(
        maryrose

        Liked by 1 person

  3. escribano13 says:

    maldito traductor de google!!, para los poemas no sirve 🙂 Lo que entendí me gustó mucho. Gracias

    Liked by 1 person

  4. escribano13 says:

    No hace falta que escribas para mi amigo!! Solo era un comentario no una exigencia

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Blake’s poetry, but it should always be read in the context of his time and also his beliefs (which are not as clear as some might have you believe). Great words, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jazzyoutoo says:

    First time I have ever heard it was with this ELP band! You’re right it gives me the chills or whatever that is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

