NO MORE AWARD NOMINATIONS PLEASE

I have, over recent months, received a number of awards which I am eternally grateful for and have so far reciprocated in full. I have just been nominated for another one and whilst I am so appreciative, it has got me thinking.

It’s human nature to enjoy praise and, if you are like me, to praise others for the many great things they do. I love to put a smile on somebody’s face and hopefully my poems do just that, (as well as tears here and there but that ‘dark stuff’ just has to come out). I am perfectly happy with peoples ‘likes’ and overjoyed if they leave a positive comment.

Awards are lovely but not necessary. Not only is this not why I blog in the first place but it also takes so much time to participate/reciprocate that most days, I literally just don’t have it in me.

Your probably thinking, “You ungrateful bastard!”, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I am not as I truly do appreciate the fact that somebody thought of me and my stuff in such a way.

The problem I, and no doubt many other bloggers and writers, have is that I only have a certain amount of time each day whereby my health conditions and family life allow me to focus on my ‘work’. Some days I don’t even open my macbook as I simply have not the energy or drive to do so.

On the days when I do, it takes me a couple of hours to do my morning catch up with emails, twitter, fb, linkedin etc., and then I like to write a poem. There then follows another couple of hours worth of posting and publicising the poem on an ever increasing number of sites, groups, blogs etc.

By the time I’ve done all this, the only thing I am ready for is a snooze but at least I have the satisfaction of knowing that I have achieved something that, hopefully, somebody ‘out there’ will get some pleasure from.

I am rambling now so I will come to the point. From this point onwards, I will have to graciously decline any further award nominations. Please do not take offence at this as I have no control over it.

 

Please accept my heartfelt thanks for all your past and continued support.

 

Darren.

(Keep smiling 😊)

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Running Elk says:

    Damn! I was just about to nominate you for a no more award nominations award… :/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Damn… I should’ve hung back a while 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  2. blondeusk says:

    Just made a mental note to nominate you more 😉 Happy Thursday

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Grrrrr! 😂😂 Keep smiling 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done Darren 👍
    Just tonight (here in UK) I’ve had to put a note at the top of my awards page explaining that I will only accept awards with the nominator’s understanding that I may or may not comply with the conditions attached.
    Similar reasons as yourself 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its a shame but unfortunately, it is what it is.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Though I have not been nominated, I would have to decline awards, too. Most for the same reasons you’ve stated. Plus, I’m not fond of the idea of trying to offer an award to someone and getting the answer I would give.

    Another thing that gets annoying is following someone on Twitter, and right off getting a message to buy their stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gh0stpupp3t says:

    Darren, I agree with you. Awards are nice but…. you don’t have to give me award just like and/or reblog me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. gh0stpupp3t says:

        Just a simple gesture like a reblog would be nice.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. noelleg44 says:

    I’ve been doing that as well, Darren, We all know you are so worthy of all of the awards, so no problem. I propose they get spread around to some of the new bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats a great idea, Noelle.

      Like

  7. jenanita01 says:

    There is only so much time…and as we get older, there seems to be less and less…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. hugheswrites says:

    I know how you feel. Save for the whole getting nominated thing (I don’t really get those.), but I seldom feel like I have the time to do anything beyond my daily writing. It gets tiring, and I’m not even talking about twitter, blogs, and all that other stuff. I feel you. I’m just glad that I’m not the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Safety in numbers mate 😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Thumbup says:

    I do not think, you ungrateful bastard!
    LOL!
    Yeah. Mine is award free now. I totally get you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

