12 things your grandparents said…

A superb piece by Sue Vincent…

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

From the archives – December 2014:

old age by CecigianWhen you are very young, forty seems ancient and grandparents are, of course, so old they are practically another species. Like dinosaurs…almost- but-not-quite extinct and very much at home in museums. Their homes bear the traces of a ‘bygone era’…you know, a whole twenty years ago… and it is impossible to imagine yourself walking in their shoes. Not that you would be seen dead in them…

I clearly remember my own feeling of awe when my mother reached the venerable age of thirty. I was already pretty much grown up… in my own eyes at least… and could barely conceive of a time when I would be that old. These days, of course, thirty is a spring chicken and even my grandparents would have been younger then than I am now. I remember too some years later when my great grandmother, well into…

View original post 1,147 more words

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    Thanks for the reblog, Darren 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

